immigration

New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, in a commencement address
http://www.philly.com/inquirer/opinion/20080521_demand_true_change_from_presidential_candidates.html
to University of Pennsylvania graduates, argued “For America,
the key to innovation boils down to one word. The key to
innovation is immigration. Our nation’s greatest historic
strength is that we’ve always welcomed the best and brightest
from every corner of the globe. And yet every year, Congress
shuts the door to hundreds of thousands of doctors, scientists,
engineers and artists from around the world who want to work
here. It’s the greatest case of national self-sabotage and
attempted suicide I can imagine. If our country’s future is going
to be as great as our past, we have to start realizing that
immigrants have always been – and always will be – one of our
greatest economic and cultural assets.”

hmmm thoughts?

3 thoughts on “immigration

  1. Hi friend… I am from India. Your blog looks pretty cool and nice. I am interested to share my link with you. Are you interested my friend? Please visit my blog frequently and keep in touch there!!!! I hope you will accept my request. If you are interested, then please comment in my blog. Thank you!!!!

  2. I only skimmed this article, written in 2004, which suggests that because of GOP governing, USA has become less attractive to mobile immigrant talent. IF this is true, and Bloomberg’s comments are correct, that immigrants are the key to keeping America great, Than pehaps the problem isn’t congress’ immigration policy, but the entire political and economic climate its created in recent years.

    Its a old article though:

    http://www.washingtonmonthly.com/features/2004/0401.florida.html

  3. It looks like January is the busiest season for an “Immigration attorney in the US”. I’m very curious if this is the case with others. I suspect the reason I’m always busy in January is because people are getting their refund checks. All year long I offer payment options, but I just don’t get the same response as January. If you know of other ideas please do not hesitate to contact me.

Leave a Reply

